Creamy Homemade Hummus in Just a Few Steps

There are some things in life that we have always thought that are hard and we have not even tried preparing. One of those things for me was hummus. Three years ago I did not even know what hummus was and what it was made from. However, now I do and I love it so much that it is often a part of my lunches, snacks, and dinners. It’s not only delicious but also healthy – full of protein which is great for a diet in which meat is rarely eaten.

I used to purchase hummus but trying to avoid all the preservatives that in-store shelf foods have, I tried to research more about it and learn more about how I can make it in the convenience of my kitchen. It ended up being one of the fastest dishes you can make at home. I often have it accompanied with roasted red peppers, kalamata olives, feta cheese (which by the way has always been an unsubstitutable part of my life) and of course whole wheat pita bread that we still purchase from the store although I really would like to learn how to bake at home.

However, the reason I started this blog was that I wanted to prove to you how easy it is to make and how delicious it can be even if you make it on your own. It takes only 10 min – what a shame that I have never made it before.

What is needed for the hummus is:

Image

  • a can of chickpeas ( 19 fl.oz)  or pre-boiled dried chickpeas.
  • 2-3 spoons of tahini
  • 2 tbspoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of chopped garlic
  • 1 lemon ( I love it almost sour…however, it depends on the taste so don’t pour all the juice from the lemon – add a bit and taste it to make sure that it what you like it to be.
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • salt
  • red pepper  ( I use regular but you may also want to use a spicier version of it)
  • water
  • black pepper

How to make it?

I use a food processor and make sure that I put the tahini first and then the olive oil. You will see that the tahini changes its texture from more liquidy to more paste- like.

Image

Image

Then you add some of the garlic, the lemon  juice,  the chickpea, just a bit of water to make sure that the processor is able to rotate its knife and make the hummus smoother. Then you add all the spices. Cumin is a must here. I also add red pepper because I just love red pepper in my hummus, however, you may skip it. I always  spice it up with salt and black pepper. Taste it and if you think that a little bit more lemon will make it taste even better, give yourself the freedom to add more.

Process it and make sure that the hummus is smooth and soft enough to be easily picked up with a piece of toasted bread (imagine the same look and feel as a guacamole).

Image

Then we place it in a bowl, sprinkle some red pepper on it and serve it on a wooden board with some roasted red peppers, olives, feta, and toasted pita bread (click here to see how I prepare that pita bread). It has a great presentation for an appetizer when you have a lunch or dinner with friends of family. Or just like that:

Image

Don’t hesitate to try out making it at home because once you do it you will never go back to the store and buy a small package for 5 bucks when yours tastes just as good and costs much less.

Good luck.

Leave a Reply

