My First Canadian Thanksgiving

As relatively new to the Canadian living and habits I finally decided that I will celebrate Thanksgiving.

Introducing to you my first ever delicious, juicy oven roasted turkey in a Le Creuset dish given from colleagues for my wedding.

IMG_3621

Since my family is far away and we recently started our own family, I decided to start the Thanksgiving tradition in our family as well. Therefore I decided invite for dinner close to us friends and bought a 10 lbs turkey that was more than enough taking under consideration the fact that only two people at the table ate meat (which I didn’t know).

I also purchased fresh celery, onions, carrots, sweet red peppers, orange, apple, and of course the must have Thanksgiving spices such as sage, thyme, and rosemary.  I chopped up everything, spiced it up with salt, pepper and olive oil and placed in the Le Creuset dish.

preparing the vegetables for the turkey in a cast iron dish

I separated the whole turkey into pieces which was a bit scary for me. It looked like a huge bloody project but it was not in fact. I watched this Youtube video and following the instructions, the turkey was separated into breast, back, and legs. All the internal organs that were placed in a bag I threw away.

IMG_3619

I also used some broth made from cooked vegetables such as onions, garlic, potatoes, pumpkin, carrots. You may also use some of the broth of a soup you are planning on making for that same night dinner.

After I cleaned and washed the turkey breast, I placed it on top of the veggies in the baking dish. I pressed it well so that the turkey breast doesn’t touch the dishes top.

I seasoned the turkey by rubbing onto it the thyme, rosemary, sage, black pepper, salt and poured over a bit of olive oil.

Thanksgiving Turkey Dinner

I covered it up with the Le Ceruset lid and placed in the oven for 45 minutes at 425 degrees Fahrenheit.

After 45 minutes, I poured some of the additional vegetable broth and cooked it with the open lid for 45 more minutes at 350 degrees. After that I took it out and let it sit covered for about half hour. Right before the actual turkey time, I put it back in the oven for about 5 minutes on broil to achieve that golden brown crispy skin.

I served with baked potatoes, green beans, and mushrooms.

The leftovers were also great – I had them for lunch today. How was your Thanksgiving? Was it your first time ever? How do you feel about adopting holidays that are not your own?

Thanksgiving Dinner Table

Table Organization for 4

  Thanksgiving Roasted Turkey Breast in a Le Creuset dish

Leave a Reply

