Laughing Away Stress with Group Laughing

We all experience stress one way or another – job, public transit, daily traffic, money, relationships. The level of stress is constantly increasing and even if we’re trying to live a stress-free life, it is sometimes hard especially if we are surrounded with people who promote negative energy. However, during my trip in Paris, one day while I was relaxing in our hotel room and I was watching a CNN report on laughter. They were talking about a research that  has proven that laughter reduces the level of stress, increases the hormone of happiness in our brains and boosts our immune system believe it or not. But how can we laugh more often? Do we need to practice laughter? How often do we need to laugh to feel happy? These are all questions that I ask myself.

Actually, it is so interesting that there is something called laughter yoga that I wanted to share with you about. Yes, you read it right.

Laughter yoga is a practice where people can group-laugh even if they don’t have a sense of humor or actual jokes/stories to laugh about. Even if you are not practicing laughter yoga but just watching on the side, you will start laughing because it is viral. People love to laugh. Haven’t you found yourself laughing (and probably feeling embarrassed at the same time) let’s say on the train when you watch others laughing.

Some doctors say that there are similarities in what the body experiences when you laugh and when you exercise.

“The effects of laughter and exercise are very similar,” says Wilson. “Combining laughter and movement, like waving your arms, is a great way to boost your heart rate.”

Just found this CNN report  for you – an American version of the Dutch one I watched, and try to observe yourself when you watch others laughing.

When I learned about laughter yoga I actually thought “I want to try this. What a cool way to entertain yourself and give yourself that dose of laughter everyone needs in their lives.” I hope that I would go and try laughter yoga soon to experience the power of group laughter.
This is a list of some laughter yoga places in Toronto:

  • laughteryogatoronto.com/
  • laughyourselfhappy.com/
  • laughteryoga.ca
  • laughtertraining.ca/
  • laughterontario.ca/

Have you been to any of them? Share with me and my readers your experience.

Meanwhile, I am going to laugh at some of my top list of most hilarious videos on YouTube. What are yours, comment below with a link.

The cleaning dancing roomate

It got over 10 million views. Isn’t it cute to find out that guys dance when they are “alone” at home.

Nearly 20 million views:

One of the funniest I’ve seen is about a 3 year old boy who argues with her mother Linda,honey, about cupcakes. This video got 22 million views:

The explanation why this little cute guy talks to his mom like that:

Who doesn’t know the video with the twins talking to each other in a baby language:

I hope these videos made you laugh. Happy Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Laughing Away Stress with Group Laughing

Leave a Reply

