Living in the city, working in the suburbs.

I live in the west side of Toronto in one of the best places to live in my opinion. When I initially moved here, I was lucky enough to find a contract job in the heart of Liberty Village and work for a small tech start-up company that provided me with the opportunity to do the things that I like, gave me opportunity for professional development. My everyday commute was 25 minutes including the 10 minute commute in our building elevator (which really is a commute because it is so slow and busy during the morning hours that it litteraly takes so much from my time). So, this relatively short commute to work allowed me to spend more time with friends and family, allowed me to be very productive at home, allowed me to do my afternoon bike rides in High Park and by the lake, allowed me to even go to the beach. I was not feeling tired after work, I was actually eager to enjoy life.

Liberty Village in Toronto

Liberty Village, Toronto

My office in the Carpet Factory, Liberty Village in Toronto

My office in the Carpet Factory, Liberty Village in Toronto

Pet friendly Office

Pet friendly Office

Digital Work

Digital Work

Working in the city was definitely something I truly enjoyed because of:

– the frequent or very frequent public transit

– the long lunch breaks on the patios with co-workers and socializing

– the sun that I could enjoy during lunch time

– the proximity of the restaurants and variety of cuisine

– the proximity to King Street West and the Entertainment District which I could head on to with co-workers after work

Small Business Networking Event, Toronto

Small Business Networking Event, Toronto

Christmas Party with our neighbours

Christmas Party with our neighbours

Media Guild Meeting

Media Guild Meeting

Hanging out with co-workers/friends in Toronto

Hanging out with co-workers/friends in Toronto

Hanging out with co-workers/friends in Toronto, King St. West

Hanging out with co-workers/friends in Toronto, King St. West

– the walkability

After a year working in Liberty Village, I found an opportunity to work for a company that was located in Etobicoke . Since I live in the city and enjoy the urban lifestyle it was kind of stressful for me to get used to my new lifestyle because work location definitely changes your lifestyle.

I had to take a train and then a bus that was running every 20 minutes and that if I missed there was no other way to get to work on time. My daily commute time increased to 45-50 minutes minimum. I couldn’t take the lunch breaks I am used to anymore. No more patios, no more socializing. There were only parking lots around and nothing sociable that I could definitely find in the city. The walkability also went almost down to zero. No more after work hours, no more urban lifestyle. But I live in the city?….How did this happen? I realized that it is not only important where you live and selecting your neighborhood but also selecting a job that is located in a liveable area so that you may enjoy yourself and life a bit more, even for half more hour.

Note: The only positive thing about a work location in the ‘burbs is the fact that I am always travelling against the traffic.

So, when picking and choosing a workplace consider also where it is located and think about whether or not it would affect your life in a negative way. Would you prefer all the perks of being surrounded with people and enjoying the sunshine around lunchtime or enjoying a buck or two more in your pocket but travelling longer to work and back.

It seems that I am not the only one loving the urban lifestyle. Companies started realizing that urban young people love living and working in the city. Check this out.

Have you ever had to work in the suburbs and how did your lifestyle change? What did you like about it and what did you not.

Leave a Reply

