My Friday Day Off

I have a day off today. What a wonderful feeling. Sometimes we just need to get away from our routine and do something different. Although my body gets confused, my soul screams from pleasure.

I woke up around 8AM today and I made myself a pretty simple, yet unconventional for North America breakfast – a European style cheese toast .

  • I used our homemade whole grain and whole wheat bread.
  • Aged cheddar cheese
  • Crushed savory.
  • Italian salami (spicy)
  • Fresh sliced tomatoes
  • Olive Oil

I cut a slice of bread and poured a bit of olive oil for flavour and softness.

Then I placed the sliced cheese on top of it and  little bit of thinly sliced salami.

Sprinkled some crushed savory (not the powder savory). It is kind of hard to find it in Toronto but you can find it.

Then I broiled the sandwich so that only the cheese and spicy salami got baked but the bottom of the bread stayed soft.

I usually use my regular oven to broil but you can also use those mini ones as well.

After 5 minutes of broiling or until golden brown, I took the sandwiches out and placed cold sliced tomatoes on top and some salt. Voila!

Happy Friday!

IMG_4006

IMG_4007

I am now ready to stroll the city and enjoy the brightness of the snow. It’s 0 degrees outside. For Gods Sake it’s warm! In December!

IMG_4002IMG_4014IMG_4011

Leave a Reply

