Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte that Can’t Be Beat!

I can’t lie. Pumpkin Spice Latte is my favourite seasonalStarbucks drink but I cannot have it all the time because of the sugar content /syrups of this specialty drink. Since I have an espresso machine at home and a to-go coffee cup, I decided to experiment and see if I can make a delicious (yet with controlled amount of sugar) warm drink with a fall pumpkin flavour to take with me during the colder months of the year.

So I did some researched and I found out that it is not as hard as you may think to actually mix up this drink yourself.

What I needed is the latte ingredients, namely:

  • 12 oz milk (I use 2%)
  • 2 hot espresso shot ( I use Lavazza Rossa)
  • coconut sugar as you like (organic by Everland)
  • and 2 tablespoons of the pumpkin mix that I made myself.

Pumpkin Mix for Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte

How to make a Pumpkin Mix for a Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte (PSL).

The pumpkin mix for the PSL is consisted of E.D. Smith pumpkin puree from a can (It’s so delicious that even babies love it.), coconut sugar and the pumpkin spice that I mixed myself since I did not have a ready pumpkin pie spice that you can find in the stores.

For the pumpkin spice:

I mixed all the nutty and sweet flavours of the spices that I got from BulkBarn:

  • 1/3 of a cup of ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon of ground ginger
  • 1 tablespoon of ground nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon allspice
  • 3 doses of vanilla (1.5 g each)

Pumpkin Spice Recipe

Once I mixed them all up, I warmed up 8 tablespoons of the pumpkin puree in a cooking pan and added 3 tablespoons of coconut sugar (the sugar can be adjusted to your flavour or you may add additional sugar to your already ready latte) + 2 teaspoons of the pumpkin pie spice I made.

I stirred occasionally on a low temperature and until warm and equally mixed. Then, I transferred the mixture into a Crofters jam jar I had stored to recycle in situations like that. I closed it tightly, turned upside down and hit the bottom of the jar so that the cap goes out to seal it even better. I let it cool and then I placed it in the fridge for the morning.

pumpkin mix for a homemade pumpkin spice lattePumpkin Mix for Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte

Pumpkin Mix in a Jar

How to make a homemade pumpkin spice latte:

First, put two tablespoons of the pumpkin mix on the bottom of the cup. Then, make two shots of espresso and pour them over the pumpkin mix and stir well. Steam the milk and make a bit of froth. Pour the milk in the cup freely with the froth. I don’t usually add whipped cream to my PSLs so I wouldn’t do it even for my homemade to save a bit of unhealthy calories.

Pumpkin Spice Latte

What a great way to start your day. Good morning Toronto! I am ready for you!Toronto view of the city

create your own online store

Leave a Reply

